News and Info from Deeside, Flintshire, North Wales

Five candidates standing in next months Alyn and Deeside by-election

NOTE: This content is old - Published: Thursday, Jan 11th, 2018.

Five candidates will fight the Alyn and Deeside assembly by-election on Tuesday 6 February, it follows the death of incumbent Labour AM Carl Sargeant in November last year.

So far five candidates are:

Gresford Community councillor Sarah Atherton is the Welsh Conservative candidate. Read more about Sarah here.

Wrexham councillor Carrie Harper is the Plaid Cymru candidate. Read more about Carrie here

Broughton and Bretton community councillor Donna Lalek has been chosen to stand as a Welsh Liberal Democrat candidate. Read more about Donna here.

Duncan Rees has put himself forward as the prospective Green Party candidate. Read more about Duncan here

Jack Sargeant has been nominated by the Alyn and Deeside Labour party as their candidate more here

UKIP said they will not field a candidate if Jack Sargeant is chosen by labour, “out of respect to the late Carl Sargeant.”

Alyn and Deeside Welsh Assembly result from 2016

Welsh Assembly Election 2016: Alyn and Deeside
Party Candidate Votes % ±
Labour Carl Sargeant 9,922 45.7 −6.9
Conservative Mike Gibbs 4,558 21.0 −7.1
UKIP Michelle Brown 3,765 17.4 +17.4
Plaid Cymru Jacqueline Hurst 1,944 9.0 +1.4
Liberal Democrats Peter Williams 980 4.5 −3.1
Green Martin Bennewith 527 2.4 +2.4
Majority 5,364 24.7 +0.2
Turnout 35.0 −2.0
Labour hold Swing +0.1


Spotted something? Got a story? Send a Facebook Message | A direct message on Twitter | Email  
(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});